The MarketWide Catalog
MarketWide makes use of a catalog to preserve information about databases, table names, and field names required for using each server, in addition to features such as picklists and lookups. The catalog is created during installation, but any work done to the catalog takes place in the MarketWide Administration Utility. The catalog is saved on the host machine, and every time users access it when launching MarketWide, they receive the most current catalog, including all updates and administrative changes.
Each time an Administrator makes changes to the catalog, a temporary work catalog is created where edits can be made so that it does not interfere with the primary catalog. After changes are completed, the Administrator must save the working catalog by clicking Save. If you leave the MarketWide Administration Utility, you will be asked if you want to save the catalog. Once you have made all the changes to the catalog, you must commit the catalog to replace the primary catalog with your saved work catalog.
To commit the catalog, click the Commit button (
) on the AdminUtility toolbar. You must have saved a working catalog before committing that catalog. The changes will only affect users upon launching MarketWide, where they will receive the newest version of the catalog. If a user is currently on MarketWide when a new catalog is committed, they will be prompted to download the new catalog.
If you elect to save your changes without committing, the next time you launch the MarketWide Administration Utility, you will receive a message that asks if you would like to continue with the previously saved changes, or drop all uncommitted changes and start over.
To Commit the Catalog
- After making changes to the catalog, click Save ().
- Once you have saved a working catalog, click Commit () and Close.